The Insurance Research Council estimates uninsured motorist rates based on how frequently insurance companies process car-crash claims involving an uninsured motorist. According to 2012 claims data, 5.8% of Utah's motorists are uninsured, compared to the national average of 12.6%.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Utah
Auto insurance is required in Utah. You need to carry proof of insurance in your car. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance, you face a $400 - $1,000 fine and may lose your license and/or vehicle registration.
Also visit: Utah Auto Insurance Requirements | Uninsured Motorists Basics | Utah Insurance Department